If you are a full-time, part-time, or seasonal employee and have suffered an injury at work, you may be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits, no matter who was at fault for the accident. In California, you may recover the following types of workers’ comp benefits:
- Medical expenses.
- Temporary and/or permanent disability benefits.
- Supplemental job displacement benefits.
Additionally, if you die from your injuries, your spouse and dependents may receive death benefits.
When do payments start?
It can be hard to make ends meet while you are out of work and not earning an income. Therefore, you may be wondering how long you will have to wait to start receiving your workers’ compensation benefits.
Medical benefits will begin as soon as you submit your claim. Under California Labor Code 4652, you will need to miss three days of work before you can start receiving for temporary disability benefits, unless you meet the criteria for an exception (e.g., you have a serious injury requiring overnight hospitalization and/or are disabled and out of work for more than 14 days).
Generally, your employer is required to send you your temporary disability payment no later than 14 days after receiving notice of your injury. Permanent disability benefits, if required, must start within 14 days of your temporary benefits ending. If your employer sends your payments late, it may owe a penalty.
How long will my payments last?
Temporary disability payments in California can last for up to two years (104 weeks) but can be extended in more serious cases. Permanent disability payments can last a lifetime, as long as you continue to qualify. Generally, permanent disability benefits are only given to people who are unable to ever return to work.
Injured workers deserve to be compensated for their workplace-related injuries and illnesses. If your employer is delaying sending out your workers’ comp benefits, an attorney may be able to help.